Rubber Stamp

It’s been a busy few weeks indeed! First of all, I just wanted to say I’m done with my Junior year of college! Woot!

Anyway, a few weeks ago in my Illo Majors Studio class we got to create a black and white illustration that would be turned into a rubber stamp. I had a hard time with this at first. I had no idea what I wanted a stamp of! But I rattled my brain and came to the conclusion that I wanted a stamp of one of my characters.

So, using my inking skills, I created an drawing with brush and ink. Nothing fancy, just the head of one of my favorite original characters.

He’s a strange character, there’s no doubt about it. But I love him for all his quirks and warts and odd humor.

Anyway, the stamp. We sent all our drawings off to some place in California to be made into rubber stamps. We waited and waited and waited. There were some bumps in getting them along the way but at last they arrived!

They even carved the wood with my drawing! I am so pleased with it! As you can see, I’ve already used it. Thus, the ink stained rubber.

I had fun with colored ink pads as well. I showed a bunch of people and stamped it a bunch of places. The problem now is, I want to make more rubber stamps!

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafts, Illustration

Leave a comment